Exploding Balloon Wall


Back in November 1994 I took on a challenge that took my company to new heights, Exploding Balloon Walls. Now these were not new ideas it was just you never heard about many of them. My client wanted me to reveal a new drug logo but was very specific about what they wanted and the theme of the conference was “Mission in Protium” and the sound track would be  Mission Impossible.

This was to be one of the most nerve-racking jobs of my life. Now it was not my first balloon wall, I had done several prior to this and they usually consisted og about 10 – 12 large 36″ latex balloons to reveal a disco or small logo. But this one was different as we needed to reveal the entire stage set and logo so the wall needed to be BIG. I did my working out and estimated I would need about 80 x 36″ latex balloons all sized to 32″.

The entire wall was built by Myself & Dave Saker,  Nick Thompsett did all the wiring and pyros and took 8hrs to build . We also had to rig 20 exploders in the ceiling each filled with 100 x 5″ balloons and 5000 pieces of flutter to be detonated at the end of the conference.

So in brief it was blow the set up at the start of the conference and make a mess at the end. Enjoy the video.

About matthewlewisdisplays

We are a small balloon company based in Coventry. We specialize in balloon decoration and balloon printing. We have our own balloon printing machines & print on Qualatex latex balloons from 9" to 36" as well as 4ft & 5.5ft Chloroprenes in single colour and foils balloons from 18" , 20" and 36" in multi colour. We also have a full digital print arm to the company supplying business stationary and balloon race labels. As for me I'm self motivated, love my job and private life. Im married to Traci, have two children Joshua (Josh) and Harriet (Harribo) and two dogs, Midnight is a black Labrador and Zara is a black shaggy coated Labradoodle. My main hobby is fishing which I find very relaxing and I can be found with a rod in my hand most Sundays (Weather permitting). I also run a quiz every Monday evening in the pub I live next door to raising money for SANDS My balloon decorating career started many moons ago in 1989. I was introduced to Qualatex balloons just after that, passed my CBA in 1994 and have never looked back since. My work has taken me length and breath of England and into Europe working on large scale decor at Euro Disney in Paris and as well as Alacante in Spain and more recently appearing on the hit TV show "Idiot Abroad" staring Karl Pilkington & Warwick Davis on location in Macedonia for the 3rd and final series. My passion for balloons and balloon decoration continues to grow and I am a great believer that to be the best you need to use the best so Qualatex are my first and only balloon I use for large scale WOW factor decor. Their education and training are second to none and their vast array of products tick all the right boxes in the creative juices department.
This entry was posted in Events, Latest News and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Exploding Balloon Wall

  1. Pingback: Balloon Wall – Boston - the balloon blog - the balloon blog

  2. Give me a call some time
    07850844550

  3. Great post Matt,
    Fantastic Video,
    How did you manage to control the explosion of all those Balloons amazed it didn’t blow somebodies head off.

  4. Yep 1994 Sakes.
    I do remember the fuse bit, scared the S*%t out of me, freaked the client out 100% but the whole job was awesome. I remember during lunch we went down to the beach and just sat there and said nothing, we were speechless. Then the afternoon session and the exploders in the ceiling, just to much excitement for one day. Still feel nervous even when I watch this clip.
    Just thought, no Health & Safety forms to fill out on this job, no method statement, those were the days

  5. David Saker says:

    Hey Matt

    Was it really 1994 – wow.

    You forgot to mention that the very first pyro we fired was a small pretend fuse – and it didn’t work, it didn’t fire.

    Your client and us 3 dudes went white with fear – the reality hit us that this was not going to work.

    As you can see on your awesome video everything else fired perfectly and we lived to fight another day.

    Cheers David

Leave a Reply

