My balloon and party shop


I’ve never wanted a balloon and party shop, I have always been very happy dealing with customer over the phone or email. Customers would also visit and meetings would be held in my office, quotes would be presented to the customers and bookings taken. Nearly every single customer commented on the fact that it was a great looking building and that I should have a shop, so I bit the bullet and in 2008 I open a shop.

The area the shop now occupies was the reception and accounts office, so we moved the account up stairs, built a counter, lick of paint and hey presto a shop was born.

From Accounts Office and Reception to Balloon and Party Shop in one week

 

The beauty of doing this is that I could find my stock at a glance. Prior to the shop being opened all my stock was on shelves or in boxes in the work room and I constantly found myself ordering products that I had in stock but could not find them. The entire shop was stock from what we had and we had a lot. It also freed up the work room from clutter and gave us a more professional image.

I’m not a High Street shop so my foot fall is not great but what I do get is quality customers spending a lot of money with me once they are here. I sell a lot of helium and  disposable helium cylinder and party packs, my main brand is Qualatex on both latex and foils and the new 34″ Qualatex numbers just fly out the door. I still have meetings in my office with prospective clients who  enter through the shop. We have a free customer car park and are situated on one of the main roads leading in and out of the city

The company occupies the entire building with the balloon printing workshops at the rear

 

The building sits in the heart of a very historical watchmakers conservation area in Coventry, its 200 years old , is a listed building and has appeared on numerous T.V documentaries. The building was once on a short list to be feature in a long running TV program back in 1997 but nothing materialised from this.

The plaque to the left of the main front door

About matthewlewisdisplays

We are a small balloon company based in Coventry. We specialize in balloon decoration and balloon printing. We have our own balloon printing machines & print on Qualatex latex balloons from 9" to 36" as well as 4ft & 5.5ft Chloroprenes in single colour and foils balloons from 18" , 20" and 36" in multi colour. We also have a full digital print arm to the company supplying business stationary and balloon race labels. As for me I'm self motivated, love my job and private life. Im married to Traci, have two children Joshua (Josh) and Harriet (Harribo) and two dogs, Midnight is a black Labrador and Zara is a black shaggy coated Labradoodle. My main hobby is fishing which I find very relaxing and I can be found with a rod in my hand most Sundays (Weather permitting). I also run a quiz every Monday evening in the pub I live next door to raising money for SANDS My balloon decorating career started many moons ago in 1989. I was introduced to Qualatex balloons just after that, passed my CBA in 1994 and have never looked back since. My work has taken me length and breath of England and into Europe working on large scale decor at Euro Disney in Paris and as well as Alacante in Spain and more recently appearing on the hit TV show "Idiot Abroad" staring Karl Pilkington & Warwick Davis on location in Macedonia for the 3rd and final series. My passion for balloons and balloon decoration continues to grow and I am a great believer that to be the best you need to use the best so Qualatex are my first and only balloon I use for large scale WOW factor decor. Their education and training are second to none and their vast array of products tick all the right boxes in the creative juices department.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

