VERO MODA, Oxford Street, London


In between me hosting the NABAS meeting and making a mess at the Spa Centre with Airbursts and Confetti Cannons I decided to save the best till last and for me it was the high-light of the week, VERO MODA store opening on Oxford Street, London W1. It all started about 2 months ago when my inbox went mad, I filtered through the mail and came across a request for exploding balloons in Oxford Street. It was an outside job which if you are in the balloon industry you will know carries high risk. I divulged the clients brief, made contact and a site meeting was arranged. We all meet outside the store and as you can see from the picture below it was still undergoing transformation but at least I could get a feel for the area, we hit a local coffee shop and discussed ideas.
The Store 6 weeks prior to opening

Im always a little nervous when clients tell me thay have this great idea as I’ve been in this industry a long time,  I know whats feasible and whats not but this client was different, very organized and precise and my brief was as follows… 3ft exploding balloons outside the store, the 3ft balloon must contain smaller helium filled balloons to create a mini balloon release and they would provide vouchers to be place inside the balloon aswell. Upon detonation the small balloons word rise and the tickets fall to the ground, oh and one more thing we need all the balloon printing… EASY.

I layed out my proposal and emailed it to my client who in turn emailed Vero Moda in Denmark. Lots of questions were asked, emails were pinging backwards and forwards between Coventry, London and Denmark and time was running out. With one week to go we still had not got a definite answer but the OK came through on Friday 29th October. The 36″ balloon could not be printed in time so I explained this to the client and they were OK and understood, WOW I thought and understating client FANTASTIC. The stock was purchased, crew booked in and it was fulll steam ahead for the launch on Thursday 4th November. So rather that rattle on they say a picture tells a 1000 words so the following photos should give you an idea of what we had to do, ENJOY

The prepping area above the store, warm and dry

Amanda gets to grips with the 16″ collars

As you can see we top printed the 16″ collars making the store name very visible when outside on Oxford Street

Kevin gets to grips with the 36" balloons inserting the 9" balloons and vouchers

Me hiding the cables that will connect to the detonators

Attaching the detonator. OMG look at the grey hair

And were all ready to Rock n Roll

The finished product

The Crew. Could not of asked for a better team

 

The Client, Lovely Girls, professional, calm and relaxed all day

The Store, looking good and ready for business

And if you want to see the job in action click here

About matthewlewisdisplays

We are a small balloon company based in Coventry. We specialize in balloon decoration and balloon printing. We have our own balloon printing machines & print on Qualatex latex balloons from 9" to 36" as well as 4ft & 5.5ft Chloroprenes in single colour and foils balloons from 18" , 20" and 36" in multi colour. We also have a full digital print arm to the company supplying business stationary and balloon race labels. As for me I'm self motivated, love my job and private life. Im married to Traci, have two children Joshua (Josh) and Harriet (Harribo) and two dogs, Midnight is a black Labrador and Zara is a black shaggy coated Labradoodle. My main hobby is fishing which I find very relaxing and I can be found with a rod in my hand most Sundays (Weather permitting). I also run a quiz every Monday evening in the pub I live next door to raising money for SANDS My balloon decorating career started many moons ago in 1989. I was introduced to Qualatex balloons just after that, passed my CBA in 1994 and have never looked back since. My work has taken me length and breath of England and into Europe working on large scale decor at Euro Disney in Paris and as well as Alacante in Spain and more recently appearing on the hit TV show "Idiot Abroad" staring Karl Pilkington & Warwick Davis on location in Macedonia for the 3rd and final series. My passion for balloons and balloon decoration continues to grow and I am a great believer that to be the best you need to use the best so Qualatex are my first and only balloon I use for large scale WOW factor decor. Their education and training are second to none and their vast array of products tick all the right boxes in the creative juices department.
This entry was posted in Balloon Decoration, Balloon Printing, Events, Latest News, Latex Balloon Printing, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

